Nine man Rebels win

Cheltenham Town

Cheltenham Town

Townsend (1-1)
Slough Town

Slough Town

Brown (25), Bateman (68)
General Motors A Cup Attendance: 1100 Jeff Bateman
Jimmy Brown returned to haunt Cheltenham Town on Tuesday night scoring the opening goal as the Rebels battled to knock the Conference outfit out of the GMAC Cup first round for the second consecutive season with 10 men.

Nine months after the Rebels' striker scored a decisive goal in the first round replay, Brown started the ball rolling with a first-half blast to prevent Cheltenham from burying their Christmas past.

This time the game proved far less dirty, although both skipper Keith White and Tony Knight were given their marching orders and four of the Rebels team were booked.

Neal Stanley, playing a commanding role in the middle of the park, set up the first strike for the Rebels with a well driven cross to Jimmy Brown in the 25th minute. Brown seized the opportunity to split a square Cheltenham defence, threading a fierce shot home past the 'keeper.

Cheltenham, having lost only one game this season were determined to make amends in the second half, pushing forward from the off, but were denied by the heroics of 'keeper Trevor Bunting, Jeff Bateman and Tony Knight who played superbly in defence.

Slough gave a tremendous performance in the circumstances, playing with 10 men after captain Keith White was sent off for protesting against a seemingly innocuous tackle just outside the penalty area.

But The Robins fought hard for the equaliser. Chris Townsend powered home with a well struck volley midway into the half.

Then in the 68th minute, Stanley was hooked from behind on the edge of the box giving the 10 men the chance to forge ahead. Stanley floated in a superb cross from the free kick and Jeff Bateman headed home to make it 1-2 to Slough.

Slough, reduced to 9 men when Tony Knight was sent off, came away with a well deserved win.

Cheltenham Town Lineup


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2024