Sorry Joe, no hope of title

| League
Slough Town
Russell (70)
1 - 1
Ives (30)
John Beyer
Slough Town, having sparkled like champagne on the F.A. Trophy trail, seemed to go flat on Saturday when faced with the more mundane task of Isthmian League football and manager Joe Arpino's hopes that they still stand an outside chance of the title virtually fizzled out.

The best Slough can now obtain is an F.A. Trophy and Berks and Bucks Cup double. Against Tooting there were several faults. Gordon Bartlett tried hard, but tended to dwell on the ball too long and found it difficult to achieve a good understanding with fellow strikers Kieran Somers and Dave Russell.

Bartlett was replaced by Terry Brown in the second half and although Brown supplied more punch this move meant that the attack lacked width. Roy Davies, back in the side following tonsillitis, tended to push too far forward and Alan Gane, normally so accurate, wasted far too many free kicks.

For all that, Slough did the bulk of the attacking and had Tooting in trouble as early as the third minute. Dunn, having raced out of his penalty area to reach a poor back pass, was dispossessed by Somers, but the keeper recovered to boot the hall into touch.

Slough, adapting quite well on a muddy slippery pitch, kept pushing forward and when a shot by Russell was deflected, Bartlett wasted a chance by firing over. Davies and Somers then went close but Tooting snatched the head in the 30th minute.
Des Dennis got away from Micky Cooper and crossed from the right for Alan Ives to head home.

A repeat of this move almost brought Tooting another goal in the second half - but this time Ives headed Dennis's centre against a post.

It was an unhappy second period for Tooting. They had Danny Clapton and Trevor Ford booked for fouls and conceded the equaliser in the 70th minute. A move started by Beyer led to Somers crossing from the left and Russell heading in.

Tooting Line up

Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2022