Match day

Team logo
Ebbsfleet United (H)
Sat Mar 25

Match day

Team logo
Ebbsfleet United (H)
Sat Mar 25 12:30
The Vanarama National League South

Dyer on fire as Slough win at St Ives

| League
Att: 315
St Ives Town
0 - 3
Slough Town
Dyer (25, 70), Wheeler (55)
George Short
Johnnie Dyer's fine form continued as he scored two goals to help the Rebels to a convincing win at St Ives Town.

Slough had early attempts from Foulser’s header and a tame Jamie McClurg shot, whilst Eddie Smith’s low ball into the box found Dyer, but debutant goalkeeper Barney McLaughlin beat him to it.

Dyer opened the scoring from close range on 25 minutes after a largely cagey opening spell, with a superb goal. He chested the ball down from Woozley’s header into the box, and in one motion, turned and swept it past McLaughlin.

Dyer would have been disappointed moments later not to make it 0-2 after sliding in but failing to connect from an excellent Darren Wheeler cross.

The hosts created their first chance with Dugi Ogbonna played through on goal, but he was in an offside position.

Avelino Vieira later shot from a tight angle and forced a good save from Jake Somerville, on his return from injury. Half time arrived with Slough comfortably ahead – defending well, whilst not creating many clear chances.

Darren Wheeler doubled the lead on 55 minutes, repeating his feat from Tuesday evening by curling a free kick into the top corner after Dyer was fouled 20 yards out.

St Ives went on the attack immediately, but could only fire into the side netting. David Cobb and Avelino Vieira spurned chances, and Dyer’s second goal, twenty minutes from time, put the game out of reach for the hosts.

Defender Jordan Lambert mistimed a header on the edge of the box and the ball fell to Dyer, who fired decisively past McLaughlin.

St Ives Town Line up

Barney McLaughlin, Stuart Cobb, Dan Banister, Dan Newman, Jordan Lambert, Jimmy Dean, David Cobb (Karl Gibbs), Lee Ellison (c), Avelino Vieira, Dugi Ogbonna (Jon Stead), Jared Cuniff. Subs not used: Will Fordham, Jamie Alsop.

Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2023