Next match

Team logo
Bath City (H)
Sat Mar 2

Next match

Team logo
Bath City (H)
Sat Mar 2 15:00
The Vanarama National League South

Rebels make Trophy exit

Boreham Wood

Boreham Wood

Richards (28, 53, 69)
Slough Town

Slough Town

Edgeworth (40), Sharif (63)
FA Trophy Attendance: 167 Dean Harper
A hat-trick from Jamie Richards condemned a determined Slough Town to defeat in the FA Trophy, despite a first senior goal for Mo Sharif.

Slough, however, were dealt a blow very early on as striker Simon Martin suffered a recurrence of the injury which forced him off against Chesham in midweek. He was replaced by Tommy Hayes.

Martin had been the first to threaten the goal with a long-range effort which bounced off ‘keeper Tony Tucker, but was gathered at the second attempt.

Elliot Buchanan went closer when, after picking the ball up in midfield, he went on a long run and shrugged off a couple of challenges before hitting the top of Tucker’s bar with a fierce drive from 15 yards.

The Hertfordshire hosts signalled their intent with Jamie Richards shooting inches wide from distance, but Wood opened the scoring with 28 minutes played. Richards received a pass from Leon Hunter on the edge of the box and delivered a superb left-footed finish across Perks into the top corner.

Slough ensured the lead would not last too long in fortuitous circumstances. Kevin Stephens lost possession, leading to a foul and a free-kick twenty-five yards from goal. Paul Edgeworth’s low drilled effort hit the wall and the unfortunate Ryan Kirby deflected the ball into the bottom corner of Tucker’s goal.

Wood carried the greater attacking threat going into the half-time interval, and the hosts almost regained the lead but Chris Watters’ strike from the edge of the area was tipped over by Perks.

The game developed into a fine cup tie after the break. Perks had to be on guard to deny Lee Allinson from distance, but was beaten by Richards again on 53 minutes. Hunter was again involved, and his effort on goal was saved superbly by Perks, but Richards was on hand to follow-up and plant the rebound high into the net with referee Mr Field ready to award a penalty for a foul on Hunter.

Hunter almost netted himself soon after, but his attempted header from Chris Watters’ fierce cross went over the bar.

Slough showed plenty of resolve and scored an equaliser on 63 minutes with a landmark goal for Mo Sharif. The hard-working Danny Murphy sent in a right-footed cross for 16-year-old Sharif to expertly guide his header into the top corner of Tucker’s goal, a deserved reward for the young forward’s recent endeavours.

With Rebels players heads up, Sharif shot over from the edge of the box and Simon Sweeney drilled wide after being played in by fellow full-back Murphy.

However, the clinical goal instincts of Richards came to the fore again as Boreham Wood took the lead for a third time with twenty minutes remaining.

It came from a superb team move involving Watters, who played a superb ball forward for Hunter. With only Perks to beat, Hunter found Richards in a better position on the right hand side of the box, and the striker finished easily to complete his hat-trick.

Slough, showing the fighting spirit which has resulted in many late goals already this season, were not out of the contest. Elliot Buchanan, who had a quiet second half compared to his first half efforts, was denied a penalty from a handball appeal against Daniel Braithwaite.

Late on, Slough twice came agonisingly close to snatching a replay from Paul Edgeworth free-kicks. His first whipped effort was only just missed by the onrushing Dean Harper, who would have scored with any contact. His second moments later was pushed wide by a diving save from Tucker.

With time running out, every Slough player including Ricky Perks pushed forward, but Wood should have scored a fourth as Hunter fired wastefully wide after being played in by substitute Joe Reynolds on the counter-attack.

Boreham Wood Lineup

1. Tony Tucker, 2. Kevin Stephens ©, 3. Daniel Braithwaite, 4. Leon Hunter, 5. Ryan Kirby, 6. Bobby Highton, 7. Mario Noto, 8. Lee Allinson (14. Joe Reynolds), 9. Harry Hunt (12. Sean Sonner), 10. Jamie Richards (17. Pierre Hall), 11. Chris Watters. Subs not used: 15. Greg Morgan, 16. Dean Green.


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2024