Next match

Team logo
Farnborough (A)
Sat Sep 23

Next match

Team logo
Farnborough (A)
Sat Sep 23 15:00
The Vanarama National League South

Unbeaten run ends at Eastbourne

| League
Att: 805
Eastbourne Borough
Kendall (19, 74, 80)
3 - 1
Slough Town
B Harris (88)
Slough Town’s unbeaten run came to an end thanks to a Charley Kendall hat-trick at Eastbourne Borough’s Priory Lane, writes Henry Cheal.

On ten minutes, Slough almost took the lead as Eastbourne keeper Lee Worgan’s pass was picked up by Ben Harris, but his attempt was deflected just wide by a last-ditch tackle from Trent Mahorn.

But just ten minutes later the home side took the lead. A long ball came through to Kendall, who fired the ball into the bottom corner past keeper Jonathan North.

On 26 minutes, Walker almost doubled the lead for the home side but North pulled off a top save to keep it out of harm’s way.

Slough had a couple of half opportunities as the game drew nearer towards half-time, but Eastbourne successfully defended each opportunity that came to them.

Early on in the second half Slough could have levelled up the affair, as Freddie Grant almost caught Worgan off guard by shooting from 45 yards out as the Rebels tried to find an equaliser. The ball ultimately went just over the bar.

Kendall put Eastbourne two goals to the good with 15 minutes to go when Jaden Perez slotted in a through ball to Kendall, who converted the chance. Slough had expected the referee to signal for a free kick to Eastbourne, but the official ended up continuing play which led to the goal.

Then just five minutes later, Eastbourne put the game to bed as Kendall scored from the rebound after North spilled the ball from Perez’s effort outside the box.

While the game was over by that point, Ben Harris scored a late consolation goal for Slough in the last few minutes of the game, in what was his 100th appearance with the Rebels.

Image: Philip Benton

Eastbourne Borough Line up

Lee Worgan, Jake Elliott, Mitchell Dickenson, Joel Rollinson, James Hammond, Greg Luer, Charlie Walker (c) (Charlie Towning 85), Dom Hutchinson, Jaden Perez, Trent Mahorn, Charley Kendall. Unused substitutes: Finn Holter, Steven James, James Beresford, Joshua Oyinsan.


Slough Town FC is not responsible for content produced on external websites | Copyright Slough Town FC 2023